Slipknot News

Scar The Martyr – Joey Jordison’s New Project

Slipknot drummer Joey Jordison has unveiled details of his new project, Scar The Martyr. Recorded at Sound Farm Studios in Des Moines, IA, Scar The Martyr‘s debut album was produced by Rhys Fulber, whose production and mixing credits include Fear Factory, Rob Zombie, Mindless Self Indulgence, Front Line Assembly and more. The as-yet-untitled album is slated to arrive later this fall.

Recognized globally as one of the best drummers in rock, Jordison is both a primary songwriter and the drummer for the Grammy Award-winning Slipknot. The Scar The Martyr recording sessions saw him behind the drum kit, while also playing bass on all songs, and rhythm guitar on all but two. The album was written by Joey and lead vocalist Henry Derek, and joining them in the studio were keyboardist Chris Vrenna (Nine Inch Nails), as well as guitarists Jed Simon (Strapping Young Lad) and Kris Norris (Darkest Hour) who collectively handled all lead guitars on the album.

Scar The Martyr sees Jordison treading in new sonic territory and expanding upon his already remarkable abilities as songwriter and performer. A searing rock record that draws elements from post-punk and industrial music to create an immersive and modern attack, the album creates a menacing and enveloping palette of surging synthesizers layered under heavy guitars and Jordison‘s trademark precision drumming.

“With this project, I focused my efforts on writing for the better of the song,” says Jordison. “I wasn’t worried about flash or persona…It’s all about writing a good solid song. I’m writing music that people can grasp and hold on to…something that resonates. If you don’t have that, then you have nothing.”

Scar The Martyr

Scar The Martyr

Henry Derek – vocals
Joey Jordison – drums, bass, rhythm guitar
Kris Norris – guitars
Jed Simon – guitars
Chris Vrenna – keyboards

Follow Scar The Martyr on twitter.
Like Scar The Martyr on facebook.

Source:, Roadrunner Records, Roadrunner Records

Slipknot – Download Festival 2013 – Set List, Videos Available

Video footage from Slipknot‘s recent performance at the 2013 Download Festival is available for viewing below. The 9 performed the following songs: Disasterpiece, Liberate, Wait and Bleed, Get This, Before I Forget, Eyeless, The Blister Exists, Dead Memories, Sulfur, Left Behind, Gently, Pulse of the Maggots, Everything Ends, The Heretic Anthem, Psychosocial, Duality, Spit It Out, (sic), People = Shit and Surfacing.

Slipknot – Intro – Live at Download Festival 2013

Slipknot – Disasterpiece – Live at Download Festival 2013

Slipknot – Wait and Bleed – Live at Download Festival 2013

Slipknot – Before I Forget – Live at Download Festival 2013

Read more